I always used to laugh when I would hear that crappy song at 6:00 am on a Sunday morning, after I had just dragged into work, with the knowledge that for the next several hours, I would be changing tags on the countless products in the Store. Sunday morning is anything but easy for me. It is 8 to 10 hours of running around trying to fix mistakes. Mistakes that are, for the most part, made by people who work Monday through Friday, 9 to 5.

My new boss thinks we should have Sundays off. This is a completely foreign concept to me, as I’ve not had a Sunday off in about 8 years. So to me, Sunday is just another work day. I was always off on Mondays. I have nothing to do on Sunday. In fact, there are several things that you cannot do on Sunday, that I could do on Monday. Like go to the bank. Or the doctor. Or the DMV. Or the mall. Oh sure, I know I could have gone to the mall on Sunday, but everyone else is off on Sunday, and they are either in my Store, or the mall. I work in a retail store filled with people, and the last thing I want to do on my day off is go into another retail store filled with people. That’s why I like being off during the week. I can actually get in and out of a store on a Monday in a fraction of the time that it would take anyone on a weekend.

I still get a little offended at those newsreaders or weathertellers or radiotalkers when they say, “and it’s gonna be a great weekend to be at the [insert place here that is most assuredly not work]” or “here’s how your 4 day weekend is shaping up”, or “well, it’s the end of the work week”. I don’t get those days off, and neither do a whole hell of a lot of people. Not everyone works Monday through Friday, 9 to 5. I don’t get holidays off. Me, and hundreds of thousands of people just like me, have to work when you “Monday through Friday”ers (M-F’ers) are off on weekends and holidays.

But I’m not bitter. I have no ill-will towards those M-F’ers. That’s just the way it is. I work in retail. This is my life. I have to be at work when M-F’ers are off work and need to shop. And the tradeoff is that I get to make a dentist appointment on a Monday without even thinking about it. I get to take my car for an oil change at 10:00 AM and know with almost absolute certainty that I will not have to wait in line. When a new DVD comes out, I can go into the local mega-media store and pick it up without having to wait in line. At all. It’s really nice. So, I guess I’m just not sure about this whole “Sunday off” thing.

After all, I never considered myself an M-F’er.

