The wedding is coming up soon. About 9 days. All my coworkers have been asking me one of two questions: “Are you ready for it?” and “Are you nervous yet?”

The answers are Yes and No, in that order. What they really want to ask, of course, is am I getting The Cold Feet yet. The answer to that is No, and I don’t expect to. It’s not like I’ve been sitting around for the past few weeks saying to myself, “Oh no! I’ll not get to spend any time with my friends anymore! I won’t be able to go out to strip bars, get blazing drunk and crash on a friend’s couch! I won’t be allowed to brazenly hit on every woman who walks by me and does or does not achieve eye contact with me! I won’t be able to play video games all night long anymore! I’ll be a slave to a relationship!”

I haven’t been saying any of that, because I got over that phase of my life long ago. I’m tired of it, and I’ve moved on. I don’t have any interest in staying up late drinking and carousing, and I’ve become somewhat of a social recluse for the last few years.

Yes, I’ve lived that life, and it no longer appeals to me. And the woman I have found is quite possibly the greatest woman in the world. I’m totally ready to be married to her for the rest of my life. No qualms. No looking back. No regrets.

We’ve both changed quite a bit since we met. A lot, actually. Almost a complete turnaround. We have, over the last five years, grown up… together. We have faced trials and tribulations, and have come out the other side better people for it. We are stronger. And I know we can get through anything life throws at us – as long as we face it together.

I promise I’ll get back to my normal, mean-spirited self next post.

